2021 MTV Video Music Awards Returns


Doja Cat hosts the 2021 MTV VMAs. (Photo courtesy of Billboard).

The 2021 MTV Video Music Awards (MTV VMAs) kicked off on September 12th at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York, with a slew of well-known and recognized celebrities in attendance. American rapper, singer, and songwriter Doja Cat hosted this year’s ceremony with Billie Eilish, Megan Fox, Simone Biles, and many others as presenters. 

The MTV VMA’s are hosted yearly, and is an opportunity for artists to gain recognition and awards for their work. MTV executives decide the nominees each year, and then votes are cast by the public on who should win each award, which are then announced at the ceremony. Parkview senior Zoe Wilson says, “I was super excited to see all of the winners for the VMAs this year, I was especially rooting for Olivia Rodrigo.”

The awards ceremony began with many artists taking to the stage to perform. The lineup this year was extensive and according to Pitchfork, performances included: 


Justin Bieber and the Kid Laroi– “Stay” and “Ghost”

Olivia Rodrigo– “Good 4 U”

Kacey Musgraves– “Star Crossed”

Twenty Pilots– “Saturday”

Ed Sheeran– “Shivers” and “Bad Habits”

Lil Nas X and Jack Harlow– “Industry Baby” and “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)”

Camila Cabello– “Don’t Go Yet”

Tainy and Shawn Mendes– “Summer of Love”

Doja Cat– “Been Like This” and “You Right”

Chlöe– “Have Mercy”

Normani– “Wild Side”

Ozuna– “La Funka”

Foo Fighters– “Learn to Fly”, “Shame Shame”, and “Everlong”

Alicia Keys and Swae Lee– “Lala” and “Empire State of Mind”

Busta Rhymes and Spliff Star’s performance of a medley

Machine Gun Kelly and Travis Barker– “Papercuts”

Anitta– “Girl From Rio”, Saint Jhn’s “Traps”, “Sucks to Be You”, and “Roses”

Latto– “B*tch From da Souf”, “Muwop”, and “Big Energy”

Polo G– “Rapstar”

Kim Petras– “Future Starts Now”

Swedish House Mafia– Lifetime” and “It Gets Better”


Many artists received multiple nominations, with Justin Bieber and Megan Thee Stallion leading the nominees with seven and six votes each. Other artists followed in pursuit, and the end of the night yielded the following results:


Best New Artist: Olivia Rodrigo

Song of the Year: Olivia Rodrigo- “Drivers License”

Push Performance of the Year: Olivia Rodrigo- “Drivers License”

Group of the Year: BTS

Best K-Pop: BTS- “Butter”

Artist of the Year: Justin Bieber

Video of the Year: Lil Nas X

Video for Good: Billie Eilish- “Your Power”

Best Breakthrough Song: Claire Rosinkranz- “Backyard Boy”

Best Pop: Justin Bieber FT. Daniel Caesar, Giveon- “Peaches”

Best Hip-Hop: Travis Scott ft. Young Thug & M.I.A.: “Franchise”

Best Collaboration: Doja Cat FT. SZA- “Kiss Me More” 

Best Alternative: Machine Gun Kelly ft. Blackbear- “My Ex’s Best Friend”

Best R&B: Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic- “Leave the Door Open”

Best Direction: Lil Nas X- “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)” 

Best Choreography: Harry Styles: “Treat People With Kindness” — Choreography by Paul Roberts

Best Cinematography: Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, SAINt JHN, WizKid: “Brown Skin Girl” Cinematography by: Benoit Soler, Malik H. Sayeed, Mohammaed Atta Ahmed, Santiago Gonzalez, Ryan Helfant