Luke Comb’s Newest Hit Wants to be Remembered “Forever After All”


Luke Comb’s cover for his deluxe album

Luke Combs released his deluxe album “What You See Ain’t Always What You Get” on October 23rd. The track consists of 18 songs from Luke’s 2019 second album, “What You See Is What You Get, “ with five new tracks.

  1. “Beer Never Broke My Heart”
  2. “Refrigerator Door”
  3. “Even Though I’m Leaving”
  4. “Lovin’ on You”
  5. “Moon Over Mexico”
  6. “1, 2 Many”
  7. “Blue Collar Boys”
  8. “New Every Day”
  9. “Reasons”
  10. “Every Little Bit Helps”
  11. “Dear Today”
  12. “What You See Is What You Get”
  13. “Does to Me” feat. Eric Church
  14. “Angels Workin’ Overtime”
  15. “All Over Again”
  16. “Nothing Like You”
  17. “Better Together”
  18. “Six Feet Apart”
  19. “Cold As You”
  20. “The Other Guy”
  21. “My Kinda Folk”
  22. “Without You” feat. Amanda Shires
  23. “Forever After All”

Many of these songs were already heard from the previous album, but fans and myself were excited for the new addition song “Forever After All.” Luke shared a little video containing a part of his piece on his Instagram, which had fans going crazy. The song was released on multiple platforms and just 29.1 million streams in the U.S in the week ending of October 29th.

Let’s start by saying Luke Combs knows for sure what he is doing when writing some great love songs. In May 2018, he had another hit and a viral love song, “Beautiful Crazy.” This man is very talented and currently is the top country artist and top country male artist. Additionally, his previous album “What You See Is What You Get” being the number one country album of the year. He knows how to make people reflect upon their life and feelings. Luke takes every aspect of life, including love, sacrifices, dreams, tragedies, and achievements, and puts it into his songs. His new hit song makes you think deeply and intensely of that one person you want to spend the rest of your life with.

“Forever After All” begins with a smooth electric guitar and a steady beat. Luke then jumps in with a standard, calm tone to start with. As he gets further into the song, I can feel the suspension build enormously. It rises until it bursts with a mood of such love and passion. It builds this mood through his voice while still keeping a smooth, steady beat. Then, towards the middle of the song, it drops the beat slightly to create that suspension once again. Afterward, it erupts with intensity and such enthusiasm for his love for this woman. The song is a very smooth yet sweet melody that repeatedly plays in your head for hours. 

His voice starts very calmly and steady initially, then explodes with emotion and fierceness in the song’s parts. His outbursts of emotion when singing about the love of his life truly help me and listeners feel and understand this emotion of love and power. Love is so strong and powerful as one that this is what makes it last for eternity. His voice beginning at a calm, neutral level, then leading to a powerful, passionate voice is what truly brings this all together. I can feel and understand these sensations not only through his strong voice but through his lyrics as well.

Luke’s lyrics show his devotion and commitment he has towards his wife. The song begins with examples of items that have a limit and don’t last forever. He uses a sample of a good truck having 300,000 miles until it is not useful anymore. After these examples, he includes the lyrics “You only get so much until it’s gone,” which demonstrate the meaning of not lasting forever. Luke then has lyrics of “ They say nothing lasts forever, But they ain’t seen us together” showing the intense force of love they have together to last forever. Additionally, it includes lyrics like “Other things that I could look at my whole life” to display their love for one another. Lastly, the famous lyrics “Maybe some things last forever after all” demonstrate their endless love.

These lyrics are filled with sweet romance, passion, and aspects of life, but I would count it as another sweet love song in terms of originality. I rate this song an eight because I like that Luke contributes real-life examples to make it unique and realistic. For example, blue jeans are fading out after years of work- not forever. But, me and you, that’s forever. I also rate this an eight due to its meaning and intensity this song brings to me, after listening on repeat many times.

Luke nailed this song and fed his fans this feeling of desire for love. He displays how love is so strong that it overcomes obstacles in life. No matter what we face, if we have that person we love with us, our passion is unbeatable.